Are Sweet Tarts Vegan – The Truth About Sweetarts – 2023

Are Sweet Tarts Vegan? Sweet Tarts, also known as SweeTARTS, are the ultimate sweet-and-sour candy experience. These crunchy, crumbly, and fruity candies are perfect for satisfying your sweet tooth 😎. And with several varieties to choose from, including Original, Chewy, and Ropes, there’s something for everyone. But, you may wonder if Sweet tarts are vegan-friendly. The answer is that it depends on the variety. Some SweeTarts products are vegan, while others are not.

SweeTarts are produced by the Willy Wonka Candy Company, a Nestle brand, and were created as a less-messy alternative to popular candies like Pixy Stix and Lik-M-Aid. So, whether you’re a vegan or just looking for a sweet treat, Sweet Tarts have got you covered!

Before digging deep, I would clarify something that some ingredients may or may not be vegan so in this case, we consider them as vegan and those are listed below.

1. Controversial Vegan Ingredients

  • Sugar
  • Colors
  • Natural and Artificial Flavorings

1.1 Sugar:

As a vegan, take active steps to ensure the sugar you consume aligns with your values by researching the way it is produced or avoiding candy products that contain sugar. This will give you confidence in the vegan status of the sugar.

1.2 Colors:

When it comes to food colors some of them used in candies may raise concerns for vegans due to animal testing in their production process. However, in this analysis, we assume that all food colors are vegan unless they are derived from animal or insect origin, such as Carmine, which is not considered vegan most of the time.

1.3 Natural and Artificial Flavorings:

When it comes to natural flavors used in candies, they can come from both animal and plant-based sources. However, most natural flavors used in candies are typically from plant sources. If a natural flavor is known to be from an animal source, it will be clearly stated on the product label.

Important Note: Egg whites, Gelatin, or Confectioner’s glaze are not vegan.

2. Are Original SweeTarts Vegan?

The Original SweeTarts are vegan-friendly and suitable for vegans to consume. The Easter-shaped SweeTarts (Chicks, Ducks, and Bunnies) are also vegan. However, there are some ingredients in SweeTarts that may be of concern for some vegans, so it is important to check the ingredients list.

are sweet tarts  originalvegan

2.1 Original SweeTarts Ingredients:

Dextrose, Maltodextrin, DL-Malic Acid, and Less Than 2% of Calcium Stearate, Natural Flavors, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake. (Source).

3. Are Chewy SweeTarts Vegan?

It’s sad to say but all varieties of Chewy SweeTarts, including Mini Chewy – Regular and Berries & Cherries, Extreme Sour Chewy, and Giant Chewy, are not vegan-friendly because they contain egg whites, which is an animal-derived product. So, vegans should avoid eating all varieties of Chewy SweeTarts.

are sweet tarts chewy vegan

Are sweet tart mini chews vegan? No, sweetheart mini chews are not vegan because an egg ingredient is included in the manufacturing of mini chews.

Are sweet tart sour chews vegan? No, sweetheart sour chews are not vegan because sour chews contain an egg ingredient.

3.1 Chewy SweeTarts Ingredients

Dextrose, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, Maltodextrin, and Less than 2% of DL-Malic Acid, Calcium Stearate, Egg Albumen, Natural Flavors, Mono- and Diglycerides, Carnauba Wax, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake. (Source)

Nutritional Info40 pieces per serving
Total Fat:5g
Total Sodium:5mg
Total Sugar:11g

4. Are SweeTarts Gummies Vegan?

SweeTarts makes four different types of soft gummy candies: regular gummies, sour gummies, soft bites, and a kind called Whipped & Tangy. The regular gummies, sour gummies, and Whipped & Tangy all have something called Gelatin in them.

are sweetarts gummies, softbites vegan

Sweet Tarts candies (SweeTarts Gummies, Sour Gummies, and Whipped & Tangy candies) are not vegan because they contain an animal-derived ingredient called gelatin. However, SweeTarts Soft Bites are made with a plant-based ingredient called pectin, so they are vegan. So, you can enjoy the SweeTarts Soft Bites if you are following a vegan diet.

4.1 SweeTarts Gummies Ingredients (Source)


Sugar, Glucose Syrup (from Corn or Wheat), Gelatin, Malic Acid, Potato Starch, Tartaric Acid (Less Than 2%), Natural Flavors, Citric Acid, Sodium Ascorbate, Fruit and Vegetable Juice Color, Spirulina Extract Color, Paprika Oleoresin Color, Turmeric Oleoresin Color, Beta-Carotene Color.

Soft Bites:

Glucose Syrup (from Corn or Wheat), Sodium Citrate, Pectin, Apple Juice Concentrate, Citric Acid, Sugar, Less Than 2% of Natural Flavors, Vegetable Juice Color, Beta-Carotene Color, Paprika Oleoresin Color.

Whipped & Tangy:

Fruit and vegetable juice color, natural flavors, paprika oleoresin color, turmeric oleoresin color, beta-carotene color, malic acid (less than 2%), citric acid (less than 2%), glucose syrup (from corn or wheat), Gelatin, and sugar.

5. Are SweeTarts Ropes Vegan?

SweeTarts Ropes are not suitable for vegans because they contain two ingredients that come from animals. Gelatin is made from boiling animal skin, tendons, cartilage, and bones, and Confectioner’s Glaze (also known as Shellac) is made from the secretions of lac bugs. Both of these ingredients are not considered vegan-friendly.

are sweetarts ropes vegan

5.1 SweeTarts Ropes Ingredients (Source)

Sugar, Corn Syrup, Wheat Flour, Water, and Less Than 2% of Citric Acid, Sorbitol, Maltodextrin, Sodium Citrate, Glycerin, DL-Malic Acid, Gelatin, Natural Flavors, Vegetable Juice Color, Confectioner’s Glaze (Lac-Resin), Salt, Spirulina Extract Color, Beta-Carotene Color, Turmeric Oleoresin Color.

6. Are Sweet Tart Candy Canes Vegan

Yes, the candy canes made by Sweetart are vegan-friendly and don’t contain any animal products when we consider controversial products vegan-friendly, like sugar and Artificial Flavors. You can enjoy them without worrying about any non-vegan ingredients. Just like regular SweeTarts, these candy canes are suitable for vegans.

are aweetarts candy canes vegan

6.1 SweeTarts Candy Canes Ingredients:

Blue 1, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Titanium Dioxide (color), 2% or Less of Malic Acid, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5, Sodium Citrate, Corn Syrup, Sugar, Red 3

7. Are Sweet Tart Jelly Beans Vegan

No, Jelly beans are not vegan friendly because the Confectioners Glaze (lac-resin) ingredient of jelly beans is derived from animal body parts.

are sweetarts jelly beans vegan

7.1 SweeTarts Jelly Beans Ingredients:

Corn Syrup, Dextrose, Sugar, Modified Food Starch (corn), 2% Or Less Of Malic Acid (dl-malic Acid), Natural And Artificial Flavors, Tapioca Dextrin, Carnauba Wax, Water, Blue 1 Lake, Color Added, Red 40, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Confectioners Glaze (lac-resin).

8. Are Sweet Tart Hearts Vegan

We have doubts about Sweet tart Hearts being vegan because where this product is manufactured there are some other products also manufactured in which egg and milk ingredients are used, so we are not clear about whether the Sweetarts are vegan or not.

Are sweetarts hearts vegan

8.1 SweeTarts Hearts Ingredients:

Dextrose and maltodextrin, both forms of sugar, are mixed together with natural flavors, malic acid (DL-Malic Acid), which is a naturally occurring acid found in many fruits, 2% or less of Calcium Stearate, which is a food-grade lubricant that helps to prevent ingredients from sticking together, and Blue 1 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40 Lake, and Yellow 5 Lake, which are artificial food colorings. It may also contain eggs. The ingredients are blended together to create a sweet and flavorful mixture.

9. Are Sweet tart Lollipops Vegan

Yes, when we consider controversial ingredients like sugar, and artificial flavor, we cannot find an ingredient that is completely non-vegan, so we can say that Sweetarts lollipops are vegan.

Are sweetarts lollipops vegan

9.1 SweeTarts Lollipops Ingredients:

Sugar, Corn Syrup, Malic Acid, And Less Than 1% Of Artificial Flavor, Sodium Lactate, Color Added, Red 40, Yellow 5.

FAQs – About Sweetarts are, Gluten-free, Kosher, Peanut Free, Dairy Free, Pork Free, Healthy?

Is SweeTarts Gluten Free?

If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you’ll be happy to know that the original Sweet Tarts are safe for you to eat. However, it’s important to check the ingredients list before buying other Sweet Tarts products because some of them may contain gluten. So, make sure to always check the ingredient list before buying Sweet Tarts products if you’re gluten-free.

Are SweeTarts Kosher?

SweeTarts products are not certified as kosher. This means that they do not meet the dietary laws and regulations that are followed by those who observe the kosher diet. So, if you follow a kosher diet, SweeTarts products may not be suitable for you to consume.

Is SweeTarts Peanut Free?

If you’re worried about peanuts or tree nuts, you’ll be happy to know that all SweeTarts products are free from peanut and tree nut ingredients. This means that none of the SweeTarts products contain peanuts, tree nuts, or any ingredients derived from peanuts or tree nuts, so they are safe for people with nut allergies to consume.

Is SweeTarts dairy-free?

If you follow a dairy-free lifestyle, you’ll be glad to know that all SweeTarts products are free from dairy-based ingredients. This means that none of the SweeTarts products contain any dairy products or derivatives of it, so it should be safe for people with dairy allergies or intolerances to consume. So, you can enjoy SweeTarts products without any worries about dairy.

Are sweet Tart’s skull bones vegan?

Sweet Tart Skull Bones are made with ingredients including dextrose, maltodextrin, malic acid, a small amount of calcium stearate, natural flavors, and color from blue, red, and yellow lakes. It may also contain traces of eggs. Sweet Tart Skull Bones contain ingredients that are not suitable for a vegan diet, including trace amounts of egg. So, unfortunately, vegans cannot consume sweet-tart skull bones.

Are sweet tarts healthy?

Sugar and food colorings are the main ingredients in Sweet Tart Skull Bones. Even though they do not contain animal products, they are not considered to be a healthy food choice

Do sweet tarts have pork?

Some Sweet Tart products such as Gummies, Sour Gummies, and Whipped & Tangy contain Gelatin, which is a protein made from boiling animal skin, tendons, bones, and other parts. According to PetaThis ingredient is not suitable for vegetarians or vegans as it is usually obtained from cows, pigs, or fish.

Summary – Are Sweetarts Vegan – Vegan & Non-Vegan Options list

Here is a list of Sweetarts products and whether or not they are considered vegan. Some ingredients in Sweetarts products may be controversial for vegans, but for the purposes of this list, we will consider them vegan.

Sweetarts Vegan Products:

  • Original Sweetarts
  • SweeTarts Soft Bites
  • Sweet Tart Candy Canes
  • Sweet tart Lollipops

Sweetarts Not Vegan Products:

  • Chewy Sweetarts (Mini Chews, Regular and berries & Cherries, Extreme Sour Chewy and Giant Chewys)
  • Sweet Tarts Gummies (SweeTarts Gummies, Sour Gummies, and Whipped & Tangy candies)
  • SweeTarts Ropes
  • Sweet Tart Jelly Beans
  • Sweet Tart Hearts

I hope you get complete information about Sweetarts Products’ vegan or non-vegan status. If you still have any queries related to this topic, feel free to ask them in the comment box.

You can Also Enjoy these Related Articles:

  1. Are Jolly Ranchers Vegan?
  2. Are Bagels Vegan?
  3. Are Jolly Rancher Gummies Vegan?
  4. Are Takis Vegan?
  5. Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan?
  6. Are Vanilla Tootsie Rolls Vegan?